Chicago Dessert Tour

A few weeks back my friend asked if I would like accompany her on one of her dessert tours that she leads through Taste Bud Tours. As someone that has a love for anything that involves sweets, how could I say no?

If you are looking for a great way to experience the tastes of Chicago and learn some history along the way this tour is a must! Even as a native Chicagoan I learned so much about the city’s history and local restaurants. Did you know that brownies were invented in Chicago?! I definitely didn’t.

The tour was the perfect afternoon activity as it was about 3 hours long from 1-4pm. The Chicago dessert tour started at Frankie’s Scaloppine in the 900 shops on Michigan Ave. where we sampled their freshly made Italian cookies. We then headed over to the Drake and had an espresso brownie. It was so neat getting to see and learn about such an iconic Chicago hotel.

I really enjoyed that our tourguide would give us some facts and history about each restaurant we visited and also the sites we would see in between each stop.

After the Drake we went to Devon seafood restaurant that I have always walked passed but never been in. It was really a beautiful restaurant and their chocolate carrot cake was definitely my favorite dessert on the tour…so make sure you save room for that! Our last two stops on the tour were the Allerton Hotel where you’ll get a surprise dessert depending on what the Chef prepares that day. My group had a chocolate chip cheesecake that definitely didn’t disappoint. The last stop was at Lawry’s steakhouse. We had their hot fudge sundae made with their own speciality hot fudge which was a prefect way to end the tour.

Food truly is such a great..and tasty way to get to know a city. I would HIGHLY recommend this tour to my friends in the area or any visitors. Getting a small taste for so many great restaurants in the city is also a nice way to find restaurants you’d like to visit for a meal or go back and get the same amazing dessert you just sampled!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment